Home / News / News / Webinar on IMBER-ADApT: A Decision Support Tool for Responding to Global Change

Webinar on IMBER-ADApT: A Decision Support Tool for Responding to Global Change

23
Mar
2015
Webinar on IMBER-ADApT: A Decision Support Tool for Responding to Global Change

IMBER-ADApT: A Decision Support Tool for Responding to Global Change by the IMBER Human Dimensions Working Group

Thursday 28 May 2015 at 12 noon EDT/ 9 am PDT/ 4pm GMT

Register at: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/6077172655788348418 

Global change is occurring now, often with consequences far beyond those anticipated. Although there is a wide range of assessment approaches available to address specific aspects of global change, there is currently no framework to identify what governance responses have worked and where, what has facilitated change and what preventative options are possible. To respond to this need, we developed IMBER-ADApT, an integrated assessment framework that builds on knowledge learned from past experience of responses to global change in marine systems, to enable decision-makers, researchers, managers and local stakeholders to: (i) make decisions efficiently; (ii) triage and improve their responses; and (iii) evaluate where to most effectively allocate resources to reduce vulnerability and enhance resilience of coastal people. IMBER-ADApT is intended to enable and enhance decision-making through the development, a typology of case-studies providing lessons on how the natural, social and governance systems respond to the challenges of global change. Fisheries, which suffer from multiple pressures, are the current focus of the proposed framework, but it could be applied to a wide range of global change issues. Learn more about IMBER-ADApT at www.imber.info/index.php/Science/Working-Groups/Human-Dimensions/IMBER-ADApT. 

Webinar co-sponsored by OpenChannels.org.