Past SSC members 2020

Members

Carol Robinson

Carol Robinson
Chair since 2016
E-mail: Carol.Robinson@uea.ac.uk
Web page: Link

National contact, IMBER SSC (2007-2013)

University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK

Microbial biogeochemistry

IMG_7025

Marion Glaser
Vice-Chair since 2017
E-mail: marion.glaser@leibniz-zmt.de
Web page: Link

Leibniz Center for Tropical Marine Research (ZMT)
Bremen, Germany

Multi-level social-ecological systems analysis, resilience and transformation, tropical coastal livelihoods, coastal and ocean governance and management, transdisciplinary research

Eugene-Murphy

Eugene Murphy
Vice-Chair since 2016
E-mail: e.murphy@bas.ac.uk
Web page: Link

ICED (Chair), National contact

British Antarctic Survey, Cambridge, UK

Biological oceanography, Southern Ocean food web modelling, ecosystems dynamics, biogeochemical cycles

Alice Newton

Alice Newton
Vice-Chair since 2019
E-mail: anewton@ualg.pt
Web page: Link

Centre for Marine and Environmental Research, University of Algarve, Faro, Portugal

Eutrophication, assessment frameworks of marine social – ecological systems, Regional Seas Conventions, marine environmental policy implementation, marine biodiversity assessments, science communication

Stephanie_Brodie

Stephanie Brodie
Early Career representative since 2020
E-mail: stephanie.brodie@noaa.gov

University of California Santa Cruz and NOAA, USA

Bioegography, fisheries, and animal ecophysiology, the roles of oceanographic processes in species distributions

See intro video

Mark Dickey-Collas (1)

Mark Dickey-Collas
Member since 2017
E-mail: Mark.dickey-collas@ices.dk
Web page: Link

International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES) and Danish Technical University National Institute of Aquatic Resources (DTU-AQUA), Copenhagen, Denmark.

Population dynamics, ecosystem approach, science for policy, pelagic fish and fisheries

Ruben Escribano

Rubén Escribano
Member since 2015
E-mail: rescribano@udec.cl
Web page: Link

IMBER-CLIVAR Upwelling WG (Chair)

Department of Oceanography & Millennium Institute of Oceanography (IMO), University of Concepción, Concepción, Chile

Marine zooplankton ecology, marine pelagic food webs, population biology

Marion_Gehlen

Marion Gehlen
Member since 2020
E-mail: marion.gehlen@lsce.ipsl.fr

LSCE/IPSL, Gif-sur-Yvette, France

Climate change impacts on ocean processes, ocean acidification on marine biogeochemical cycles, ecosystems and feedbacks, recent past and future evolution of the marine carbon cycle; predictability of biogeochemical state and its variability

See intro video

Alistair-HOBDAY

Alistair Hobday
Member since 2017
E-mail: alistair.hobday@csiro.au

Past co-Chair of CLIOTOP

CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

Climate variability and change, climate adaptation, fisheries management, ecological risk assessments, science-to-policy

Jeomshik Hwang 1

Jeomshik Hwang
Member since 2019
E-mail: jeomshik@snu.ac.kr
Web page: Link

School of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Seoul National University, Seoul, South Korea

Biological carbon pump, sediment resuspension, radiocarbon

Narriman_Jiddawi

Narriman Jiddawi
Member since 2020

Institute of Fisheries Research and other marine resources, Zanzibar, Tanzania

Socio-economics, governance issues, stakeholder empowerment

See intro video

Kjesbu

Olav Sigurd Kjesbu
Ex-officio Member since 2018. Term ended 31 March 2020
Tel.: +47 930 47 611
E-mail: olav.kjesbu@imr.no
Web page: Link

Institute of Marine Research, Bergen, Norway

Reproductive ecology and recruitment dynamics, effect of environmental variability on fish stock productivity

Frank Muller Karger

Frank Muller-Karger
Member since 2018
E-mail: carib@usf.edu
Web page: Link

University of South Florida, Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

Biological oceanography, ocean remote sensing, nutrient cycles, ecology/biodiversity

Nyawira-Muthiga

Nyawira Muthiga
Member since 2020

Wildlife Conservation Society – Marine Program, Mombasa, Kenya

Biodiversity, conservation biology, marine management

Suvaluck Satumanatpan
Suvaluck Satumanatpan
Member since 2018
E-mail: suvaluck.nat@mahidol.ac.th
Web page: Link

Mahidol University, Salaya, Thailand

Marine and coastal management and fisheries governance

David VanderZwaag

David VanderZwaag
Member since 2018
E-mail: David.VanderZwaag@Dal.Ca
Web page: Link

Marine & Environmental Law Institute,
Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS, Canada

Marine and environmental law and governance

U_IMBERWebsitePicturesIngrid

Ingrid van Putten
Member since 2016
E-mail: Ingrid.Vanputten@csiro.au
Web page: Link

HDWG (2017-)

Commonwealth Scientific & Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) and Centre for Marine Socioecology, Hobart, Australia

Modelling the interaction of social and economic behaviour with the biophysical environment

Ying-Wu

Ying Wu
Member since 2016
E-mail: wuying@sklec.ecnu.edu.cn
Web page: Link

State Key Laboratory of Estuarine and Coastal Research (SKLEC), East China Normal University (ECNU), Shanghai, China

Marine organic geochemistry