National Contacts

To ensure broad international participation the SSC encourages collaboration with national contacts to support IMBeR-related research in the countries. National contacts are encouraged to help coordinate research and communication within countries and with the broader IMBeR community. IMBeR has contacts in 34 countries.

Africa


Nayrah Shaltout    National Contact for Egypt

National Institute of Oceanography and Fisheries (NIOF), Cairo

The carbon biogeochemical cycle in the Egyptian Mediterranean and Red Seas; Impact of ocean acidification on diatoms and bacteria; Application of BFM models for Egyptian Mediterranean Sea; Impact of climate change on the fate of persistent organic pollutants

E-mail: nshaltout@gmail.com    Website: 

Back to map


Karim Himli    National Contact for Morocco

Département d’océanographie et Aquaculture

Institut National de Recherche Halieutique (INHR), Casablanca, Morocco

E-mail: k.hilmi.inrh@gmail.com    Website: 

Back to map

 

Soukaina Zizah    National Contact for Morocco

Laboratoire d’océanographie Biologique Institut National de Recherche Halieutique (INHR), Casablanca, Morocco

Primary production in upwelling areas; Mesozooplankton analysis; Interactions between environmental parameters and plankton

E-mail: soukainazizah@yahoo.fr    Website: 

Back to map


Brownen Currie    National Contact for Namibia

Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources, Swakopmund, Namibia

Marine biology, Northern Benguela upwelling system

E-mail: currie32@gmail.com    Website: 

Back to map


Coleen Moloney    National Contact for South Africa

Marine Biology Research Institute, Rondebosch, South Africa

Food webs, modelling

E-mail: cmoloney@egs.uct.ac.za    Website: Link

Back to map


Asia


Jing Zhang    National Contact for China

State Key Lab. of Estuarine and Coastal Research, ECNU, Shanghai, China

Biogeochemistry and Chemical Oceanography

E-mail: jzhang@sklec.ecnu.edu.cn    Website: 

Back to map


Wajih Naqvi    National Contact for India

National Institute of Oceanography, GOA, India

N-cycling and microbiology

E-mail: naqvi@nio.org    Website: 

Back to map


Hiroshi Ogawa    National Contact for Japan

Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute, The University of Tokyo, Japan

Biogeochemistry, dynamics of organic matter and nutrients

E-mail: hogawa@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp    Website: Link

Back to map


Adnan Al-Azri    National Contact for Oman

Sultan Qaboos University, Al-Khod, Oman

Phytoplankton and DOM dynamics

E-mail:    Website: 

Back to map


Se-Jong Ju    National Contact for South Korea

Deep-Sea and Seabed Resources Research Division Korea Institute of Ocean Science and Technology (KIOST), Gyeonggi-do, Korea

Biogeochemistry, food web dynamics, lipid chemistry

E-mail: sjju@kiost.ac    Website: 

Back to map


Europe


Alberto Vieira Borges    National Contact for Belgium

University of Liege, Liège, Belgium

Biogeochemistry of aquatic systems

E-mail: Alberto.Borges@ulg.ac.be    Website: 

Back to map


Riitta Autio    National Contact for Finland

Marine Research Centre/Modelling and Innovations Unit, Finnish Environment Institute (SYKE), Helsinki, Finland

Bacterioplankton, Mixotrophy

E-mail: riitta.autio@ymparisto.fi    Website: Link

Back to map


François Carlotti    National Contact for France

Centre d’Océanologie de Marseille, Laboratoire d’Océanographie Physique et Biogéochimique, Marseille, France

Zooplankton dynamics, Trophic chain modelling

E-mail: francois.carlotti@univmed.fr    Website: 

Back to map


Arne Kõrtzinger    National Contact for Germany

Leibniz – Institut fuer Meereswissenschaften, Kiel, Germany

Marine Biogeochemistry

E-mail: akoertzinger@geomar.de    Website: 

Back to map


Alexandra Gogou    National Contact for Greece

Hellenic Centre for Marine Research (HCMR), Anavissos, Greece

Chemical Oceanography

E-mail: agogou@ath.hcmr.gr    Website: 

Back to map

 

Constantin Frangoulis    National Contact for Greece

Institute of Oceanography, Hellenic Centre for Marine Research (HCMR), Former American Base of Gournes, Heraklion, Crete, Greece

Biogeochemical cycles (C, N, toxin flux) and plankton ecosystem functioning

E-mail: cfrangoulis@hcmr.gr    Website: 

Back to map


Peter Croot    National Contact for Ireland

Ryan Institute, National University of Ireland, Galway (NUIG)

Earth and Ocean Sciences

E-mail: peter.croot@nuigalway.ie    Website: Link

Back to map


Cosimo Solidoro    National Contact for Italy

ECOMADR endorsed project

Istituto Nazionale di Oceanografia e di Geofisica Sperimentale, Department of Oceanography, Trieste, Italy

Ecology, computational hydrodynamics in oceanography

E-mail: csolidoro@ogs.trieste.it    Website: 

Back to map


Ken Drinkwater    National Contact for Norway

Institute of Marine Research, Bergen, Norway

Physical oceanography, climate effects on the marine ecosystem

E-mail: ken.drinkwater@imr.no    Website: Link

Back to map


Baris Salihoglu    National Contact for Turkey

Institute of Marine Sciences, Middle East Technical University, Icel, Turkey

Mathematical modelling of marine ecosystems, descriptive physical oceanography

E-mail: baris@ims.metu.edu.tr    Website: Link

Back to map


Pavel Tischenko    National Contact for Russia

Pacific Oceanological Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences, Vladivostok, Russia

Chemical Oceanography, hydrochemistry of north Pacific ocean and marginal seas, geochemistry of inorganic carbon

E-mail: tpavel@poi.dvo.ru    Website: 

Back to map


Xose Anton Alvarez-Salgado    National Contact for Spain

CSIC Instituto de Investigaciones Marinas, Eduardo Cabello 6, E36208, Vigo, Spain

Ocean biogeochemistry, dissolved organic matter, coastal upwelling, dark ocean

E-mail: xsalgado@iim.csic.es    Website: 

Back to map


Nicolas Gruber    National Contact for Switzerland

ETH Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland

Modelling, carbon-climate interactions, link to GODAO

E-mail: nicolas.gruber@env.ethz.ch    Website: Link

Back to map


Jack Middleburg    National Contact for The Netherlands

Netherlands Institute of Ecology, Yerseke, The Netherlands

Biogeochemistry, Sediment-Water, Continental margins

E-mail: j.middelburg@nioo.knaw.nl    Website: Link

Back to map

 

Wilco Hazeleger    National Contact for The Netherlands

KNMI, De Bilt, The Netherlands

Climate and Ocean Dynamics

E-mail: w.hazeleger@esciencecenter.nl    Website: Link

Back to map


Eugene Murphy    National Contact for UK

British Antarctic Survey, Cambridge, UK

Biological oceanography, Southern Ocean food web modelling, ecosystems dynamics, biogeochemical cycles

E-mail: e.murphy@bas.ac.uk    Website: Link

Back to map


North America


Kumiko Azetsu-Scott    National Contact for Canada

Oceans and Ecosystem Sciences Division Department of Fisheries and Oceans Bedford Institute of Oceanography

Carbon dynamics, ocean acidification and tracer studies in the North Atlantic and the Arctic

E-mail: Kumiko.Azetsu-Scott@dfo-mpo.gc.ca    Website: Link

Back to map


Salvador E. Lluch-Cota    National Contact for Mexico

Programa de Ecología Pesquera Centro de Investigaciones Biológicas del Noroeste, Mexico

Fisheries Oceanography

E-mail: slluch@cibnor.mx    Website: Link

Back to map


Mike Roman    National Contact for USA

Horn Point Laboratory, Cambridge, MD, USA

Zooplankton ecology, food webs

E-mail: roman@hpl.umces.edu    Website: Link

Back to map

 

Heather Benway    National Contact for USA

OCB Project Office, WHOI, Woods Hole, MA, USA

Paleoceanography, Sedimentology, Isotope Geochemistry, Marine Biogeochemistry

E-mail: hbenway@whoi.edu    Website: Link

Back to map


South America


Alberto Piola    National Contact for Argentina

Departamento Oceanografia Servicio de Hidrografia Naval & Departamento de Ciencias de la Atmosfera y los Oceanos Facultad de Ciencias Exactas y Naturales, Universidad de Buenos Aires Argentina

Regional oceanography, water masses, general circulation, ocean fronts

E-mail: apiola@hidro.gov.ar    Website: 

Back to map


Carina Lange    National Contact for Chile

Universidad de Concepción, Centro COPAS, Chile

Paleoceanography, marine diatoms

E-mail: clange@udec.cl    Website: 

Back to map


Dimitri Gutierrez    National Contact for Peru

E-mail: dgutierrez@imarpe.pe    Website: Link

Back to map


Omar Defeo    National Contact for Uruguay

Universidad de la República, Facultad de Ciencias Marine Science Unit, Uruguay

Conservation of biodiversity, management of fisheries

E-mail: odefeo@dinara.gub.uy    Website: 

Back to map


Australia and New Zealand


Alistair Hobday    National Contact for Australia

IMBeR SSC Member since 2017

Past co-Chair of CLIOTOP

CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere

Climate variability and change, climate adaptation, fisheries management, ecological risk assessments, science-to-policy

E-mail: alistair.hobday@csiro.au    Website: 

Back to map

 

Ingrid van Putten    National Contact for Australia

IMBeR SSC Member since 2016

Chair of HDWG since 2017

Commonwealth Scientific & Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) and Centre for Marine Socioecology, Hobart, Australia

Modelling the interaction of social and economic behaviour with the biophysical environment

E-mail: Ingrid.Vanputten@csiro.au    Website: Link

Back to map


Julie Hall    National Contact for New Zealand

Past IMBER Chair (2007-2010)

NIWA, Hamilton, New Zealand

Biology and Ecosystems, Microbial food webs

E-mail: Julie.Hall@niwa.co.nz    Website: Link

Back to map