Past SSC members 2023

Members

Marion Gehlen

Marion Gehlen
Co-chair since 2023
E-mail: marion.gehlen@lsce.ipsl.fr

LSCE/IPSL

Climate change impacts on ocean processes, ocean acidification on marine biogeochemical cycles, ecosystems and feedbacks, recent past and future evolution of the marine carbon cycle; predictability of biogeochemical state and its variability

Intro presentation

Alice Newton

Alice Newton
Co-Chair since 2023

E-mail: anewton@ualg.pt

Web page: Link

Centre for Marine and Environmental Research, University of Algarve

Eutrophication, assessment frameworks of marine social – ecological systems, Regional Seas Conventions, marine environmental policy implementation, marine biodiversity assessments, science communication

Micaela Trimble3

Micaela Trimble

Co-Chair since 2023
E-mail: mica.trimble@saras-institute.org
Web page: Link

South American Institute for Resilience and Sustainability Studies

Social-ecological systems; adaptive co-management; environmental governance; public participation

Intro presentation

Derek Armitage

Derek Armitage
Member since 2022
E-mail: derek.armitage@uwaterloo.ca
Web page: Link

University of Waterloo

Governance, knowledge co-production, coastal social-ecological systems

Marta Ballesteros
Member since 2023
E-mail: mballesteros@cetmar.org
Web page:  Link

Centro Tecnológico del Mar-Fundación CETMAR

Governance, human dimension, science-policy interface, fisheries management, marine spatial planning

Nina Bednaršek
Member since 2022
E-mail: nbednarsek@gmail.com
Web page:  Link

Oregon State University, Cooperative Institute for Marine Ecosystems and Resources Studies

Ocean acidification, biological oceanography, ocean ecosystem change, mitigation and adaptation strategies, climate change

Belgrano, Andrea

Andrea Belgrano
Member since 2021
E-mail: andrea.belgrano@slu.se
Web page: Link

Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Department of Aquatic Resources, Institute of Marine Research and  Swedish Institute for the Marine Environment (SIME), University of Gothenburg

Ecosystem-based management for marine fisheries, ocean governance sustainability and resilience

Intro presentation

Blenckner_pic

Thorsten Blenckner
Member since 2021
E-mail: thorsten.blenckner@su.se
Web page: Link

Stockholm Resilience Centre

Ecosystem processes and multiple stressors, socio-ecological systems

Intro presentation

Wen-Chen Chou

Wen-Chen Chou
Member since 2023
E-mail: wcchou@mail.ntou.edu.tw
Web page: Link

National Taiwan Ocean University

Biogeochemistry, carbon chemistry, blue carbon, ocean acidification

Intro presentation

Narriman Jiddawi

Narriman Jiddawi
Member since 2020
E-mail: n_jiddawi@yahoo.com
Web page: Link

Institute of Marine Sciences at University of Dar es Salaam

Socio-economics, governance issues, stakeholder empowerment

Intro presentation

Dongyan

Dongyan Liu
Ex officio member since 2022
E-mail: dyliu@sklec.ecnu.edu.cn
Web page: Link

State Key Laboratory of Estuarine and Coastal Research (SKLEC), East China Normal University (ECNU)

Impact of eutrophication and ocean warming on phytoplankton shifts in coastal waters

Jess Melbourne-Thomas

Jess Melbourne-Thomas

Member since 2023
E-mail: jess.melbourne-thomas@csiro.au
Web page: Link

CSIRO Environment

Climate change adaptation, marine social-ecological systems, modelling, knowledge brokering, Southern Ocean

Intro presentation

jingling

Jingling Ren

Member since 2022
E-mail: renjingl@ouc.edu.cn
Web page: Link

Ocean University of China

Biogeochemical processes and multiple stressors, biogeochemical cycles of trace elements and their applications, roles of micronutrients and bioengineering

Suvaluck Satumanatpan

Suvaluck Satumanatpan

Member since 2018
E-mail: suvaluck.nat@mahidol.ac.th
Web page: Link

Mahidol University

Marine and coastal management and fisheries governance

Lynne Shannon

Lynne Shannon
Member since 2022
E-mail: lynne.shannon@uct.ac.za 
Web page: Link

University of Cape Town

Ecosystem modelling, ecosystem-based management, fisheries, indicators, biodiversity

Intro presentation

Rowan Tribilco 1

Rowan Trebilco
Member since 2023
E-mail: Rowan.Trebilco@csiro.au

Web page: Link

CSIRO Environment, and Centre for Marine Socioecology

Climate change adaptation, marine social-ecological systems, ecosystem modelling and assessment, biological oceanography, science policy

Intro presentation

David VanderZwaag

David VanderZwaag
Member since 2018
E-mail: David.VanderZwaag@Dal.Ca
Web page: Link

Marine & Environmental Law Institute, Dalhousie University

Marine and environmental law and governance

Ron_Vave-2_portrait_v2

Ron Vave
Member since 2023
E-mail: vaver22@ecu.edu
Web page: Link

East Carolina University

Governance, resilience, indigenous people, culture, coastal fisheries, South Pacific

Nireka_Weeratunge

Nireka Weeratunge Starkloff
Member since 2021
E-mail: nireka.weeratunge@yahoo.com
Web page: Link

International Centre for Ethnic Studies

Socio-cultural anthropology, environment-society interface, marine-dependent communities

Intro presentation

Boris Worm Portrait

Boris Worm
Ex officio member since 2022
E-mail: Boris.Worm@Dal.Ca
Web page: Link

Dalhousie University and Ocean School

Marine ecologist with a special interest in understanding relationships between people and marine biodiversity at large spatial scales

Intro presentation

Shenghui Li _1_
Rebecca Shellock

Laura Kaikkonen

Early Career representative since 2023
E-mail: laura.m.kaikkonen@helsinki.fi



Shenghui Li 

Early Career representative since 2023

Email: lishenghui1227@163.com



Rebecca Shellock

Early Career representative since 2023

Email: Rebecca.Shellock@utas.edu.au