IC4: Who is involved

Andrea Belgrano
Co-Chair

E-mail: andrea.belgrano@slu.se
Web page: Link

Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Department of Aquatic Resources, Institute of Marine Research, Lysekil, Sweden and  Swedish Institute for the Marine Environment (SIME), University of Gothenburg, Sweden

Ecosystem-based management for marine fisheries, ocean governance sustainability and resilience

Nireka Weeratunge Starkloff
Co-Chair
E-mail: nireka.weeratunge@yahoo.com
Web page: Link

International Centre for Ethnic Studies, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Socio-cultural anthropology, environment-society interface, marine-dependent communities

Ratana Chuenpagdee

E-mail: ratanac@mun.ca
Web page: Link

Ocean Frontier Institute and Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada

Transdisciplinary approaches to coastal fisheries and ocean governance, focusing particularly on small-scale fisheries, marine protected areas, community-based management, and food security.

Annette Breckwoldt

E-mail: annette.breckwoldt@leibniz-zmt.de
Web page: Link

Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research, Bremerhaven, Germany; and Leibniz Center for Tropical Marine Ecology (ZMT) Bremen, Germany

Coastal management; Social-ecological systems; Small-scale fisheries; Local marine resource use and management realities; Small islands; Science-stakeholder interaction processes.

Mark Dickey-Collas

E-mail: Mark.dickey-collas@ices.dk
Web page: Link

International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES) and Danish Technical University National Institute of Aquatic Resources (DTU-AQUA), Copenhagen, Denmark

Population dynamics, ecosystem approach, science for policy, pelagic fish and fisheries

Paul Foley

E-mail: pfoley@grenfell.mun.ca
Web page: Link

Ocean Frontier Institute and Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada

Karen Hunter

E-mail: karen.hunter@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Web page: Link

Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Ottawa, Canada and PICES

Makino Mitsutaku

E-mail: mmakino@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Web page: Link

University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan and PICES

Prateep Nayalk
V2V Global Partnership
E-mail: pnayak@uwaterloo.ca
Web page: Link

University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON, Canada

Environmental Change; Coastal governance, Social-ecological systems; Marginalization, justice and power.

Carol Robinson

E-mail: Carol.Robinson@uea.ac.uk
Web page: Link

University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK

Microbial biogeochemistry

Micaela Trimble

E-mail: mica.trimble@saras-institute.org
Web page: Link

South American Institute for Resilience and Sustainability Studies, Montevideo, Uruguay

Social-ecological systems; adaptive co-management; environmental governance; public participation